About the Board

Board Responsibilities

The Board of Education is the official governing body of the Denver Public Schools district. There are seven members on the Denver Public Schools Board of Education:

  • Five are elected by voters within five regions

  • Two are elected at large by voters across the entire city

The board members’ terms are four years, and they are staggered so that no more than four board members are elected in any one election. Board members are volunteers and receive no paid compensation for their service.

We are also responding to the COVID-19 crisis by naming the guiding principles and priorities that will put the health and wellness needs of our students, families and staff first and ensure we are supporting our most vulnerable students.

  • Establish a vision for the community’s schools and participate in strategic planning.

  • Develop effective policies and review them periodically.

  • Provide accountability to the community on student achievement.

  • Advocate for the needs of all students at the local, state and national levels.

  • Hire the Superintendent and negotiate contract.

  • Evaluate the Superintendent annually.

  • Conduct student and employee appeals.

  • Develop, approve and manage the budget.

  • Adopt the annual school calendar.

Member Bios

Kimberlee Sia photo

Kimberlee Sia

District 1
Term: 2024-28

Xóchitl Gaytán photo

Xóchitl Gaytán

District 2
Term: 2021-25

Dr. Carrie A. Olson photo

Dr. Carrie A. Olson

District 3
Term: 2021-25

Michelle Quattlebaum photo

Michelle Quattlebaum

District 4
Term: 2021-25

Marlene De La Rosa photo

Marlene De La Rosa

District 5
Vice President
Term: 2024-28

John Youngquist photo

John Youngquist

At Large
Term: 2024-28

Scott Esserman photo

Scott Esserman

At Large
Term: 2021-25

District Maps